I am a foodie

cooking
I call myself a foodie because I have a thing about food.  I used to be the first to try any new restaurants but at the end of the day, I ended up going back to those same restaurants that suit my taste buds.

I read that an average person has about 10,000 taste buds and they are replaced every two weeks or so. But as a person ages, some of those taste cells do not get replaced. An older person may only have 5,000 working taste buds. That is why certain foods may taste stronger to a child than they do to adults. Smoking also can reduce the number of taste buds a person has.

This knowledge is important to me in my new food adventure as a ‘home chef’.

Going back to my passion for food, I have now come to a stage where I tend to appreciate cooking and creating recipes more than trying to be a food connoisseur going around town to every new restaurants.

Collecting recipe books is one of my foodie habit.  Recipe books are big and bulky.  They are all over in my house, some in cupboards, others on bookshelves or below my TV display racks and coffee table.  Most are near-new but they do collect dust as I read them once (maybe twice) and never actually use them for the purpose they were meant for.  I love to cook but I tend to create rather than follow the step-by-step instructions.  Hence, I guess I am no good as a baker but creative cooking is my passion.  I  love the blend, the aroma, the mix and match, the art of creating something so delicious that just melts in your mouth.

This post comes about as I am on my way to launch my adventure and share my love of cooking with the community.  My Kiwi Home Chef aims to unite all foodies together through our love for food.

FOOD is such a mouthful  that further extends to fruits, vegetables, gardens, orchards,  meat, savouries, sweets, vineyards, wine, food photography, recipe books, anything and everything.  So be it eating or cooking, everyone can join us in this adventure.

We will have an inaugural dinner at my home sweet home tomorrow to share my cooking passion.

Life Imitates Art – I will imitate the Chef.

Little Borneo Girl has been a ‘bit’ (in fact very) busy all because I am a foodie !
Welcome to my Kiwi Home Chef. (Please click to enter.)

cooking1

7 thoughts on “I am a foodie

  1. Sounds wonderful. I started cooking again this autumn as my wife has little to no time for it these days. Sure often I try to just fix something quick but I also try to find new recipes and hope that luck is on my side in the end to have it eatible 🙂

  2. Pingback: Dining with strangers | littlegirlstory

Please share your thoughts.

