Eat, Pray, Love – What’s it all about?

I stumbled upon 61 Musings’ post on ‘Success, failure and the drive to keep creating’.  To read more on his post, please place your mouse over the subject and click to get you to 61 Musings.

In his post, Chris mentioned that his inspiration arrived suddenly via a “TED Talk of the day” email.  Elizabeth Gilbert to the rescue !  It now seems that Chris had passed on his inspiration on to me.  Thank you, Chris for the inspiration.

After reading his post, I have decided to blog about “Eat, Pray, Love” written by Elizabeth Gilbert.  I have a confession.  I bought the book and I have read it though not at one sitting. When I use the phrase ‘reading a book at one sitting’ it does not literally means I sit down with my legs up reading the book and won’t put it down till I finished reading it.  That may be too much of an extreme and of course not realistic.

You often read reviews of some books where they wrote ‘it is a book that once you started reading, you could not put it down’.  Certainly, “Eat, Pray, Love” is not such a book to me, not so much about the book itself but about me and my shorter attention span on things these days.  Other than WP and blogging which I still think is probably addictive and an intense hobby, reading to me is not something I could spend hours on.

A long time ago, as a young teenager I was addicted to Enid Blyton and I can say I read all her books and could easily finish reading a book a day.  Today, I get interrupted a lot and I can only concentrate on reading when I am alone and when interrupted, most times, I have to go back a few paragraphs and re-read them hence it took me ages to finish this book.  This book was made into a movie and I only saw the trailer of the movie but not the movie itself.

Chris of 61 Musings shared a powerful video of Elizabeth Gilbert talking about success, failure and the drive to keep creating.  I totally agreed with Chris that she is funny, passionate and I have thoroughly enjoyed the video and would like to share it here too.

http://www.ted.com/talks/elizabeth_gilbert_success_failure_and_the_drive_to_keep_creating

Your home is whatever in this world you love more than you love yourself.  So that might be creativity, it might be family, it might be invention, adventure, faith, service, it might be raising corgis, I don’t know, your home is that thing to which you can dedicate your energies with such singular devotion that the ultimate results become inconsequential.

Quote : Elizabeth Gilbert 5:14

Please enjoy the video while I am going to read “Eat, pray, love” again with full focus (not just speed read) as well as watch Julia Roberts on screen in the movie, sometime.

photo (23)

Have you read the book or watch the movie?
Eat, Pray, Love.

Please share your thoughts.

