10 herbs that are as versatile as they are effective

I love the smell of herbs especially peppermint.

Peppermint has got a kind of soothing scent that I could pick up easily even in the open field. I was pleasantly surprised to find peppermint growing wild and whenever I walk my dog, it is just so pleasant to smell peppermint in the air.

Do you know that lavender is a herb and part of the mint family? To me I see lavender more as a flower.  I love the scent of lavender so soothing and calm with such an adoring soft color too.

I read somewhere that smell is deeply connected to our emotional state and influences our behavior in surprising ways.  As I typed this statement, I could not help but relate this to people growing marijuana (also referred to as cannabis or weed) for all the wrong reason and victimize the weak to rob, steal or kill all for the sake of marijuana.

Marijuana is in fact a herb and as a medicinal herb helps with pain relief and nausea and vomiting from chemotherapy, for example, in terminal cancer patients.

Herbs are any plants used for flavoring, food, medicine, or perfume.

Culinary Herbs

Cooking with herbs is a great way to enjoy them!  An interesting hobby would be to grow herbs in your own garden.

Medicinal (Healing) Herbs

Healing with herbs is an old tradition that most of us are aware of but not all of us use. Essential lavender oil can be used for insect stings, cut or wounds. Rub some lavender oil on your temples and under your nose for a good night’s sleep.  Easy to grow, these herbs will be well worth the effort.

Ornamental Herbs

Sometimes you just want a beautiful herbal plant to enjoy it’s beauty.  My favorite is still lavender for its beauty and fragrance.  Not only is it an ornamental herb but it is medicinal as well.

The below article is extracted from Reader’s Digest – 10 Medicinal Herbs you can grow at home

St.-John’s-wort-works as an antidepressant and promotes skin healing.

Sage-good for coughs, colds, and congestion, and hot flushes.

Rosemary-helps memory and concentration, improves mood, and sweetens breath.

Peppermint-good for digestion, gas, and headaches.

Marigold (Calendula officinalis)-good for sunburn, acne, and blemishes; soothes ulcers and digestive problems.

Lemon balm-soothes nervous tension and anxiety, promotes sleep, and speeds the healing of cold sores.

Lavender-calms and relaxes, eases pain, and when applied to cuts and bruises functions as an antiseptic.

Johnny-jump-up (Viola tricolor)-has anti-inflammatory properties; good for eczema and skin blemishes; loosens phlegm.
Echinacea-boosts the immune system and lessens the severity of colds and flu.
Chamomille (Matricaria recutita)-soothes indigestion and colic, eases tension, and is good for skin irritations.

If you have read this far, you must be a herb lover like me. What is your favorite herb? More into culinary, medicinal or ornamental?

4 thoughts on “10 herbs that are as versatile as they are effective

    • Hi Vera, it was a draft i started back in sept and thought I would complete it today. I got a shock after I clicked PUBLISH and could not see it anywhere in my reader or my own blog! Nevertheless was lucky enough to find it hidden amongst the rest of the old post so I reblogged it. Glad you did too. Thanks heaps! 🙂

Please share your thoughts.

