Finding your place, finding your identity

I was recently invited by Amanda Rees, a Researcher of Satellite Media Ltd to appear on Neighbourhood, a local TV documentary showcasing our suburbs and the stories of people that live in each neighbourhood.

During the filming, I was asked to read a poem.

What poem?

Indeed, I had forgotten about this random poem I wrote.

‘Finding your Place’
is a poem about finding your identity, who you are, where you are from and finding a place you call home.

In a nutshell, finding your place is finding yourself which gives you security, be it a house, the people or a pet who makes you feel at home.  Security is more than just having a house to live in.  It is about sharing a home with your loved ones.

Thank you Amanda, for very kindly reading my blog and finding this poem at the same time giving me the opportunity to share my Peranakan culture with our local community.

IMG_4798

These two cuties are my securities.  Home is where Toby and Bluey are.

littlegirlstory

Where are you from?
Where are you originally from?

I was born in Kuching,  grew up in Kuching (Malaysia) and Singapore.
I now live in Auckland (New Zealand) and have been for over a decade.

It doesn’t matter whether I live in Kuching or Auckland.
It isn’t about which country makes me feel most at home.

My place is my solace.
My place is where all or most of my belongings are.

My place may not necessarily be my home.
My home is where my family is but my family is all over the world.

I may have a house, a place which sometimes doesn’t seem like home.
Home equates people close to you.

Life is a vagabond.
Children grow up and they leave their nest.

Neither my country of birth or the country I live in seem to be my home.
When there are no loved ones, there is no home.

But wait !

I do have a…

View original post 47 more words

One thought on “Finding your place, finding your identity

  1. Pingback: Security: Penzance | What's (in) the picture?

Please share your thoughts.

