Sweet Chwee Kuih, sweet memories

I made my own Sweet Chwee Kuih today !

Yeah, in fact I have not had Chwee Kuih for a long, long time.  Was inspired to create this after someone shared Kenneth Goh’s recipe on facebook.

Chwee Kuih (Chui Kuih) is directly translated as ‘water cake’.  The main ingredients are rice flour and water hence Chwee Kuih literally means “water rice cake” and described as below in Wikipedia.

Chwee kueh (known also as chwee kwee or chwee kweh) (Chinese: 水粿; pinyin: shuǐguǒ; Pe̍h-ōe-jī: chúi-kóe; literally: “water rice cake”) is a type of steamed rice cake, a cuisine of Singapore and Johor.

To make chwee kueh, rice flour and water are mixed together to form a slightly viscous mixture. They are then placed in small cup-shaped containers that look like saucers and steamed, forming a characteristic bowl-like shape when cooked. The rice cakes are topped with diced preserved radish and served with chilli sauce. Chwee kueh is a popular breakfast item in Singapore and Johor.

I love to cook but I am not good in following recipes to exact measurements.  Thanks to Kenneth Goh for the basic ingredients and I ‘agak agak’ (in Malay meaning ‘to guess or to estimate’) the recipe.  I used all purpose flour as a subsitute for tapioca flour (as I didn’t have any in my pantry) and was very pleased the ‘kuih’/cake turned out well.  Looks like my ‘agak agak’ method worked just as well.

I stirred the ‘chui kuih’/rice cake ingredients (see below) and microwave for 3 minutes.  Leave the ‘chui kuih’ to cool.

Rice cake

  • 1 cup of rice flour (粘米粉)
  • 1/2 cup of tapioca flour (木薯粉)
  • 2 cups of lukewarm water
  • Pinches of salt

Ingredients for stir fry

  • Rice cake from the above recipe
  • Sugar to taste (I added some palm sugar)
  • 1-2 tablespoon of sweet soya sauce
  • 1 tablespoon of preserved radish (or a large strip)
  • 1 tablespoon of minced garlic (3 cloves)
  • 1-2 tablespoon of cooking oil

While waiting for the ‘chui kuih’ to cool, in a blender chop the garlic and radish together.  If you are using ready-made minced garlic and radish pieces, then you can skip this step.  I avoid using Chinese garlic (after reading about the bleach and chemicals in them) hence I do not buy imported minced garlic in jar. When the cake is cool, cut into small pieces and rub with oil.

In a hot wok, add the oil and fry the garlic and radish mixture till fragrance and then add the ‘chui kuih’.  Add sugar, sweet soy sauce and fry for 3-5 minutes.  Avoid over frying as that will make the ‘chui kuih’ hard.

Kenny’s method to microwave (instead of steaming) is magic.  You can have a delicious dish of ‘sweet chui kuih’ or ‘cha kuih’ (fried ricecake) in 10-15 minutes.

I eat them with toothpicks and that gives me sweet memories.  This is our hawker or street eats in Malaysia and years ago (in the 70s) they were sold for 50 cents a small packet.

Yummilicous !

chuikuih1
chuikuih.JPG

Submitting this to Our Growing Edge – November 2016

our-growing-edge-badge

4 thoughts on “Sweet Chwee Kuih, sweet memories

  1. Thank you very much. I am so happy to see you again and trying this recipe. I still continue to blog ah ma dishes which I have due respect and blog for records.Unsure if you are aware, i have relocated to my new blog for about 1 year already. My new blog is http://www.guaishushu1.com

    My recipe definitely is not perfect but at least it helps to satisfy craving, Haha and I hope it suits your taste bud.

    Once again. Kamsiah kamsiah

    regards

    Kenneth

Please share your thoughts.

