My chocolate story

Doesn’t everyone love chocolate?

Chocolate was a treat and is still a treat to most people, children and adults alike.

Before I move to New Zealand, chocolates were real treats, only eaten on occasions.  They were gifts from friends coming back from overseas or purchased from duty free shops at the airport when one travelled home or abroad.

In New Zealand, one is spoilt for choice from all the interesting flavours by our top chocolate makers, Whittaker and Cadbury (my favourites).  I also like the wafer based ones and Kit Kat’s new salted caramel is a big hit.  There are nice little round ones  wrapped like sweets from Lindt.  The list goes on and on. They are all yummilicious, and creamy.

Lately I developed a huge craving for chocolates  late at night.  Sounded very unhealthy.  I must have got this habit from some 4 or 5 stars hotels who tend to leave a mint chocolate on the bed after turning down the bed in the evenings.

I cannot believe I broke my own record and finished almost a whole 200g bar at one eating last night!    That’s not like me but perhaps I have become an old kid now that I have past my big 50.  That 200g bar would have lasted me at least 8 to 10 feeds in the past.

This story is  my ‘kiss and tell’.  It bothered me so I thought I’d pen down what I did.  Ironically I have another 200g bar which I meant to give to a work colleague but he isn’t in today and here am I eating Cadbury black forest as I blog my confession.

Wanting to justify my craving, I goggled and found out that a little bit of everything is nice (as if I don’t know).  I probably don’t have to feel guilty eating perhaps a 200g bar over a week. It would certainly be a concern to finish that bar all at once !  I must stop being a chocoholic !

Credit: Chocolate photo via Shutterstock

“The Healthy Geezer” answers questions about health and aging in his weekly column.

Having a little chocolate has health benefits.

A recent Harvard study suggested that a bit of high-quality dark chocolate one to three times a month may protect women from heart failure.

Other studies have found that moderate amounts of chocolate seem to lower blood pressure. The pressure reduction was considered one cause of the reduced heart-failure risk. The heart benefit of dark chocolate also could be caused by flavonoids, or antioxidants, that can smooth heart function. You can also get flavonoids from citrus fruits, onions, green tea and red wine.

Eating chocolate may decrease your risk of stroke.

Chocolate may also have anti-cancer benefits because the flavonoids in chocolate may help reduce cell damage that can spur tumor growth.

If you love chocolate and wants to read more, please click here for the original article.

 

As I googled more, I found a new study suggests that the opposite may be true.

This study from the March issue of Archives of Internal Medicine study suggests that people who regularly eat chocolate may actually be thinner than those who don’t.

There you go !  What’s so bad being a chocoholic?

turndown-service-chocolates.jpg

5 thoughts on “My chocolate story

  1. I love chocolate too. I absolutely love the new Cadbury strawberry Oreo – could eat it all day 😀 I don’t know about the salters caramel KitKat but I do love the original heaps and the other day finished half a block of it. You really love your chocolate, Jess and I don’t blame you for eating the whole Cadbury block 😀

  2. Pingback: Opposites (Galgewater) | What's (in) the picture?

Please share your thoughts.

