Empty Food Cans – To throw or not to throw

Food or Beer Cans can be interesting collectibles.

The idea first came to me when I began to see several restaurants reusing empty cans as Serviettes Holder, Fork and Spoon Holder and even Pepper and Salt Holder.

So far, I have only one empty Tomato Can sitting pretty lonely on top of my kitchen cabinet.  I guess it will take a while for my collection to grow as we are not much of Canned Food eaters.

Who knows, one day my collection will be vintage and may be quite valuable in time. These empty food cans may be rubbish today but valuables tomorrow.

Perhaps you may now think twice before you throw away an empty food can into your Recycle Bin.

To throw or not to throw?

Saw these at a local restaurant.  Recycled to good use.

Saw these at a local restaurant. Recycled to good use.

Canned food display in a supermarket.

Canned food display in a Malaysian supermarket.

Hugh big cans of Tuna at a local Korean supermarket

Hugh cans of Tuna at a local Korean supermarket

More big cans of fish at a local Korean Supermarket

More big cans of Tuna (1.8kg) at a local Korean Supermarket

This is a pretty cool idea.  Recycle Bins at Changi Airport, Singapore.

This is a pretty cool idea. Recycle Bins at Changi Airport, Singapore.

Pages of such images were found of the site when I typed in 'can collections'.

Pages of such images were found on the web when I typed in ‘cans collection’.

5 thoughts on “Empty Food Cans – To throw or not to throw

  1. Though you can basically buy anything canned I never did except my army time. Perhaps I am just not really into canned food or it might be because my wife prefers to buy every fresh.

    Anyways those cans collections are really a work of art 😀

  2. We don’t have a lot of storage space so I keep cans and jars on our windowsill to hold those things like scissors, tongs, wooden spoons, serving spoons etc. The thing with cans though is that if they get wet, they rust. Some have left rust stains on our windowsill. Oops.

Please share your thoughts.

