New Zealand Wines

New Zealand wine is an experience like no other.
Every glass is a world of pure discovery.

– quote The official website of New Zealand wine –

New Zealand wine industry

New Zealand is a premier new-world wine country, producing award-winning wines that reflect the clean air and sunshine. Top quality wines are exported to cellars worldwide.

Best known internationally for sauvignon blanc, New Zealand also has a growing international reputation for pinot noir, chardonnay, pinot gris, riesling, cabernet sauvignon, merlot and methode traditionnelle sparkling wines.

Most of the country’s more than 500 winemakers are boutique, small scale operations producing low volumes of niche varieties.

NZ wine regions
New Zealand has 10 major wine-producing areas. The leading wine regions include Auckland, Gisborne, Wairarapa (Martinborough) and Hawke’s Bay in the North Island, and Marlborough, Central Otago, Canterbury in the South Island.

The grape varieties, soil structure and mini-climates in these geographical areas are varied, producing a broad spectrum of wines.

Marlborough and Hawke’s Bay are New Zealand’s two premium wine-growing regions.

Varieties produced include:

  • sauvignon blanc – Marlborough
  • pinot noir – Martinborough, Central Otago
  • cabernet – Hawke’s Bay, Waiheke Island
  • chardonnay – Gisborne
  • pinot gris – Martinborough, Central Otago

New Zealand also produces outstanding Methode Traditionelle sparkling wines.

– extracted New Zealand Food & Wine –

new-zealand-wine-regions

I love our wines and enjoy a small glass with meals most nights.

I normally drink white (Sauvinon Blanc) in summer and red (Pinot Noir, which is my favorite of all wines) in winter.  There are many good brands that I enjoy.

I have a full wine rack at home.  Does that make me an alcoholic?  It just shows (that’s what I tell myself, believe it or not) that I am a wine lover and someone that appreciates wine and the finer things in life.  When drinking at home, I do not usually spend more than NZ$15 per bottle.  When B.Y.O. to fine dining restaurants, I love to bring along a bottle of good Pinot Noir average cost around than NZ$25.  Corkage is around $5 to $10 per bottle in most restaurants.  If you were to order a decent Pinot Noir in restaurants, the cost is at least NZ$50 and up.  The best Pinot Noir are from Central Otago selling from NZ$25 and up in supermarkets and easily from NZ$70 per bottle from restaurants.

A glass of red wine is a fabulous way to de-stress not to say the health benefit that goes with it.  Red wine, in moderation, has long been thought of as heart healthy. The alcohol and certain substances in red wine called antioxidants may help prevent heart disease by increasing levels of high-density lipoprotein (HDL) cholesterol (the “good” cholesterol) and protecting against artery damage.

Let’s take a look at my favorite brands.  I am only showing you the mid range.  The advice is to drink affordably and in moderation.  Enjoy a drink as a form of entertainment, socializing and networking.

Never drink to drown your sorrow.  It will only be a temporary relief because sorrows know how to swim and dive.  They may submerge but will emerge again.

Are you a wine lover? Or do you prefer beers? What are your favorite?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “New Zealand Wines

  1. I love wine, esp red and yes, a glass when I get home from work is perfect for destressing. I will try some NZ wines – my fave right now is a cheap but lovely Portugese wine called Paszion.

    • I have never tried Paszion or Portuguese wine. We do get very cheap South African wines here but our local wine are so good so I do not mind paying a little more to sip my favorite. Cheers to Vera, from Jess.

  2. Thanks for sharing, this is very informative. It is my turn to organise the wines for my work mates quarterly drinks night this time, and I was thinking of choosing kiwi wines! This overview has given me a good insight into the different varieties, and will be choosing a few of the ones you have mentioned above! Thanks

Please share your thoughts.

