Crazy Rich Asians

Browsing at an array of books in a bookstore at Changi airport’s departure hall, Crazy Rich Asians caught my eyes. When I glanced at the author’s name, immediately I thought about my blogger friend Mabel Kwong who blogs about culture and aspires to write and publish a book.  Indeed even the last name of the author sounded so Mabel like.

Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan accompanied me on my eleven hour flight home.

Mabel just posted today about ‘How to make your dreams come true’. One of her dreams is to write and publish a book about what it means to be Asian Australia. This Asian Australian blog was featured in a national print and online magazine and reached 200,000 views.  An international ‘best seller’ already in the bloggers’ world and an author in the making.

The debut novel, Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan became one of the industry’s most hotly pursued titles thanks to its international appeal.

Crazy Rich Asians is the outrageously funny debut novel about three super-rich, pedigreed Chinese families and the gossip, backbiting, and scheming that occurs when the heir to one of the most massive fortunes in Asia brings home his ABC (American-born Chinese) girlfriend to the wedding of the season.

When Rachel Chu agrees to spend the summer in Singapore with her boyfriend, Nicholas Young, she envisions a humble family home, long drives to explore the island, and quality time with the man she might one day marry. What she doesn’t know is that Nick’s family home happens to look like a palace, that she’ll ride in more private planes than cars, and that with one of Asia’s most eligible bachelors on her arm, Rachel might as well have a target on her back.

The novel is built on an intricate web of shopping expeditions and gossipy lunches hosted by scheming ladies with boundless amounts of time and money. They’re aflutter at the return to Singapore from New York of the supereligible, Oxford-educated Nicholas Young, heir to a massive fortune that symbolizes old South-East Asian money.

If you do not intend to go searching at your local bookstore or perhaps shop online at DoubleDay or Amazon to buy this book, then click here to read the full review.

Lately I have not been able to focus especially when reading a book.  Not being able to finish a book is my shortfall. Crazy Rich Asians however is one book after a long time that I find hard to put down. There is a family tree of the characters in the book on the introductory page.  While reading this book, every now and then I had to flip back to connect with the characters to identify who is who. The interesting local terms brought back good memories. Dialect that my grandmothers and aunties used came alive in this book.

Color Force has nabbed big-screen rights to first-time novelist Kevin Kwan’s comedic best-seller Crazy Rich Asians.  In an interview in June 2014, Kevin Kwan, the author and producer said ‘The movie is progressing really, really nicely. They are working on the script right now, and were hoping for that to be done in the next couple of months.’

Meanwhile he is working on a sequel called China Rich Girlfriend and it sort of continues a lot of the storylines of what happened with Crazy Rich Asians, where many of those characters in the first book will be returning, but there will also be a lot of new characters, and new locations, and plot twists, and surprises.

Some crazy rich Asians, indeed.  I wish I am one of them but nevertheless I will be waiting for the big screen coming to a cinema near you !

Last but not least, Mabel, looking forward to your book launch some day.  Asian Australian, perhaps one day soon, you will make it big.  In the footsteps of Kevin Kwan, from author to producer to author again with a new sequel and another, another perhaps.

Perhaps I should start dreaming big and find my passion too.

Do you dream?

crazyrichasiansinside

 

Related articles

Goodreads review of Crazy Rich Asians

Color Force nabs film rights to best seller Crazy Rich Asians

Crazy Rich Asians’ movie adaptation, and book sequel title announced

Crazy Rich Asians tackle stereotypes via Satire

7 thoughts on “Crazy Rich Asians

  1. Thanks so much for the mentions, Jess. I really appreciate it and when I saw this post, my face went like this 😀 Today I started on laying the foundations for my book – trying to get down the chapters, what never-heard-before stories to include… It will take a while. Don’t think my story is too different from Asian-Australians I’ve read, so don’t think I’ll make it big.

    I’ve never heard of that Kevin Kwan book before. Thanks for sharing and I really do hope to check it out. What I find interesting is that the book has mixed reviews. Nevertheless, it seems to bring to the fore what it means to be Asian and should we be proud of being Asian. I take that you enjoyed the book 🙂

Please share your thoughts.

