Looking through windows

Looking out the window
I see the world outside
I see the open sky.

Looking through the window
I watch the seasons pass
reflected in the glass.

Looking out the window
I see day and night
I watch the sunrise and the sunset.

Looking in the window
I see the glowing fireplace
or the fan in full blast.

Looking from the window
my dog waits for someone to walk pass
just to bark.

Looking in the window
my neighbour peeps to see if I am home
so she could call round with her freshly baked scones.

Window, window,
a vantage point or a boundary
depending whether you are looking from or looking through.

 

via Sunday Stills, Lookin’ through windows
DSC04656
Jigsaw puzzle
DSC06751
window view
DSC06254

4 thoughts on “Looking through windows

  1. I LOVE this poem, Jess. So many things we see through our windows, and you’ve captured all of that beautifully. My favourite line: or the fan in full blast πŸ˜€ I hope you’re having a good start to the week. It’s very cold here in Melbourne.

Please share your thoughts.

