No Pork, please

Pork’s reign is all but over.

According to a report released by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, poultry is expected to become the world’s most consumed meat over the next 5 years.  The world’s appetite for chicken is growing faster than any other meat, while pork consumption is slowing even in its most popular markets.

“Currently, pork accounts for the greatest share in world total meat production, however, a comparatively slower growth rate through the next decade will result in it being surpassed by poultry by 2020,” the report says.

If you are a chicken lover, CLICK HERE.  If you prefer chicken to pork or pork to chicken, please read on.

Are you with me?  That was a test statement.  In any case, read on.

Here’s the real thing, my pork story.

I am not much of a pork eater.  When ordering noodles, I tend to always say ‘no pork, please’.  I find the taste of pork too ‘porky’ (obviously pork being pork), a little too overwhelming so I only eat pork cooked in a certain way.

I am no fan of bbq pork, pork chop, meaty pork (big pieces or chunks), chinese pork dumplings, pork jerky, pork this or pork that.  Bacon or ham are fine.  You will never find any pork in my freezer except once in a blue moon, I may buy a piece of pork hock when I feel like doing a slow cooker meal of Stewed Sichuan Pork Hock.

Sichuan Pork Hock - image credit little borneo girl

Sichuan Pork Hock – image credit little borneo girl

 

A few years ago, I was with this man in the house who cooked the most delicious pork belly and I just loved the crackling.

 

Since no one cooks pork belly anymore, I sometimes go for the Chinese Roast Pork readily available from the Chinese BBQ Restaurants.

And this Pork Story would not be complete if I do not mention about Suckling Pig, a chinese specialty.  A suckling pig is a piglet fed on its mother’s milk. In culinary contexts, a suckling pig is slaughtered between the ages of two and six weeks. It is traditionally cooked whole, often roasted, in various cuisines.

NO, I DO NOT EAT SUCKLING PIGS.  If I have to be polite to the host, I may eat a piece or two of the cracking but honestly, I find it a bit cruel slaughtering baby piggies.

For some reason after doing this post and searching for all the pork images, I feel quite sick and grossed out.  Am totally off pork for a while.

No pork, please.

When you go to a Chinese Restaurant or Takeout, is your regular order ‘Sweet & Sour Pork’?

 

 

Related articles

The coming global domination of chicken, The New Zealand Herald

Chicken lovers page – Famous Chicken Recipes around the World

3 thoughts on “No Pork, please

  1. I, too, am not a huge fan of pork, pork dumplings, BBQ pork and many other kinds of pork. My Chinese Malaysian parents and relatives find this incredulous and turn down their nose at me: I’m Chinese Malaysian, pork dishes run in our family, as what many of them say. Because I rarely eat pork, my brother likes to (not nicely) call me “Muslim lady” all the time (yes, we are adults). I used to be embarrassed by this but then realised whether we eat pork or not is simply just a choice.

    I don’t like pork belly one bit, and don’t like bak kut teh too. I really try to avoid eating this kind of meat altogether. You will have no problem cooking for me when I come and visit New Zealand 🙂

    • Hi Sweetie, Sama sama, Back home in Malaysia, I was often teased being a Muslim for not eating pork. I remembered when I first visited China, I starved, really because Chinese uses pork fat oil and I just cannot stand the smell. I bought a packet of ‘bak kut teh’ ingredients and just recently cooked it and of course I substituted chicken for pork. I am waiting for you to visit. Now I know you have no problem with ‘no pork’ in my home cooking. 🙂

      • Oh dear, starving on a trip to China. But I”m sure you ate a lot of Chinese vegetables there. Usually if a pork has dish AND vegies, I’m inclined to look at another dish. If I have to eat that dish, I try my best not to touch the pork. The other day I bought a ham Subway sub and didn’t like it – I used to like it, but I guess I’ve lost my taste for pork much more now.

        Finally. A Chinese-Malaysian home that isn’t biased towards pork 🙂

Please share your thoughts.

