Frame of Mind

As the saying goes, you are what you make of yourself.  You can control your own destiny.

Whether you believe it or not, indeed it’s all in the state of mind.  When you feel lousy, you feel down and you feel sick.  In good times, when you are high spirit, you feel good and you smile and the world smiles with you.

If you could paint your current mood onto a canvas, what would that painting look like? What would it depict?

via DP Frame of Mind.

Here where I am at this moment, the weather is cold, windy and my four legged friend can’t even ‘go on the grass’. Often times when he cannot hold it in the middle of the night, I have to drag myself up to find the house keys and let him out.  I have a terrible cough and my whole body aches.  Negatives, negatives and more negatives.

black.jpg

This is what my mood is like…………. but

a little voice told me, the weather may be cold, wet and wild but I have a roof above my head and the heater to keep me warm and something inside me glows.  Feeling thankful, in darkness, I see…….

light

In life I remind myself daily, in good times, I rejoice.  In bad times, I console myself knowing there are others out there worst off than me.  Living in thankfulness, I create a balance, hard as it may be sometimes but ………

Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass.
It’s about dancing in the rain.
Life is what you make it.

This is a canvas of my current mood, it may be brighter or darker some days but I will never allow the light to go out.

Create a balance and keep the glow.

11 thoughts on “Frame of Mind

  1. Pingback: Blah in the Mind! | shivansh chaudhary

  2. I’m like you. I ve these dark clouds hanging over me believe it or not…so I m totally with u on this one. What I do is write in a little journal by my bed when it becomes too overwhelming.

    • Hi A.Tan, thank you for your comments. I do that too with a journal by my bed though I hardly need to scribble anything on it. When the dark cloud happens sometimes I go and stand facing the mirror, tidy my appearance and smile to my reflection. Smiles loosen the muscles and I am still in one piece so things aren’t that bad. Grin. 🙂

  3. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Frame of Mind | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  4. This was a lovely piece of writing, Jess. Touching and so heartfelt. It also captured my state of mind at the moment. Negative, negative, negative. But you’re so right. Things can be so much worse. Today I bought myself a Freddo Frog to cheer myself up.

    I hope you get well soon. This winter our part of the world seems to be cold. It’s been raining and wet a lot in Melbourne – and windy. Not nice to be outside at all. Tomorrow’s Friday, and I hope you have a good weekend, Jess 🙂

  5. Pingback: Flash Fiction / Short Story – “Give Peace A Chance” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  6. Pingback: Upward Mobility | litadoolan

Please share your thoughts.

