Travel Photography – Tip Four : Shoot through a first-person perspective

Exploring the shots from my last trip, let’s see how well (or not so well) I did on this tip, not that I was aware of it while doing the shot.

Tip Four : Stick your hand out while giving someone a flower or a gift, and capture these moments from your angle.  Or take a photo at the back of someone’s head, overlooking a valley, a waterfall, the ocean, or any type of landscape.  The viewer will feel as if they are right there.

– quote Photographing our travels, tips from Infinite Santori –

From my eyes – the streets of Hanoi, full of roadside vendors.

The last photo (shaky, not a very good job) was a quick shot taken while riding a cyclo (a new word I learnt).  I’ve always called it a Trishaw or a Rickshaw but never a Cyclo (see first photograph) but the Vietnamese had no idea what I meant when I asked the hotel receptionist to call a trishaw for me.  Oh, she said, you mean a ‘cyclo’.

These are all very raw shots, not edited.  I do not travel with a tripod or an Olympus, just a simple Sony Cybershot, small and handy and an iphone is all I need (as a backup) to capture those moments.  I am no professional photographer.

cyclo

roadside vendors

roadside vendor1
roadside vendor2
Related Articles

Photographer, world wanderer, and Infinite Satori blogger Stephanie Dandan shares tips and inspirational advice for capturing moments during your travels.

Travel Photography – Tip Three : Explore a variety of landscapes

6 thoughts on “Travel Photography – Tip Four : Shoot through a first-person perspective

  1. Cyclo. That is a new word. It sounds funky. Looks like you went places in Hanoi, Jess. A change of scenery from New Zealand. A lot of the time I like going out with a simple point-and-shoot camera, much more convenient to take around than the more professional ones. A photo is a photo, there’s always a story within it. Looks like some people in Vietnam live the hard life. Hope you’re well, Jess. Have a good weekend 🙂

    • Cyclo was a new word to me too. I have a funny story about cyclo which I will share soon. Once I finished posting all these travel tips, I will post a topic that is close to your heart. No hints, so please don’t ask. 🙂 My cough is still bad but I am surviving. Goodnight Sweetie.

      • Get well soon, Jess, and keep warm. I meant to say have a good week ahead, not good weekend. Having a rough few days.

        Looking forward to the cyclo story, it sounds exciting. And I look forward to the other one too…what could it be, hmmm.

  2. Pingback: Travel Photography – Tip Five : Connect with the people you photograph | littlegirlstory

  3. Pingback: 5 Composition Tips for Landscape Photography INayan Hazra Photography -Flashbacks of a Fool

  4. Pingback: The secrets for shooting action shots, tips and techniques INayan Hazra Photography -Flashbacks of a Fool

Please share your thoughts.

