Is blogging a pleasure or pressure? Start the poll now !

The best way to learn what readers want is to ask.

Today’s assignment: create a poll and/or a survey to collect feedback from your readers on your site and its content.

– quote Michele W – Blogging 201, Day Twelve.

 

When I read this assignment, I thought to myself, do I really want to do that?

I have no intention to be an author seeking for an audience trying to sell a book hoping to make it into the bestseller list.  Just in case you do not know, I started blogging while looking for a platform to write my autobiography, something for my children and future grand and great grand children to read about their roots.  Then my blog branched out to something more interactive when I started taking part in ‘daily prompts’ and ‘weekly photo challenges’.  I also created my own ‘little girl story Must Read posts’ where I share posts of blogs I followed and liked.

Besides my life story, I write about anything and everything.  At times I may read something in the newspaper and thought that article is worth sharing and I would share and add my views to that topic.  Other times while driving or stuck in a traffic jam, some random idea may come across my mind and that would be another random post.   I blog about things I came across in my day to day life, mostly general topics, poems or photos (of my pet dog, Toby or food and all sorts).

Blogging is a hobby to me and I am never pressured on what to write or blog about.  I share and write articles I personally find interesting, inspirational and motivational and I am most happy of course when I get comments and likes and that reassured me that readers out there appreciate the topic or subject matter as much as I do.  When not socializing out, I enjoyed blogging, something I do most nights, penned down my thoughts into words that can be shared across the globe.

So well, I will give this assignment a miss.  No survey or poll required.  Easy come, easy go.  I would rather blog for pleasure than pressure.

As Michelle W. wrote in Blogging 201, Day Twelve

QUOTE

As we mentioned earlier — now may not be the right time for you to go out and begin to survey and poll your readers. There are no mandatory assignments — just ideas for how you can build your blog’s audience and solidify your brand.

UNQUOTE


Why do you blog?

Do you chose a topic based on what you believe your readers want to read or do you write anything that comes into your head?

Image

Littlegirlstory and her pine cone.  When the blog loads, first you see the blog title ‘litlegirlstory’ then the header of a pine cone followed by the story.

9 thoughts on “Is blogging a pleasure or pressure? Start the poll now !

    • Me too, I blog as a hobby. I enjoyed your blog but since you move to the new site, for some reason your posts no longer show in my reader so every now and then I pay a visit and enjoyed your stories. 🙂

  1. Definitely as a hobby. I want to chat in a friendly manner in comments, but if I write something and no-one reads it, the writing has to be enough fun to justify that. Usually it is. My post views range from 4 to 3000.

  2. very nice post. I blog for fun. I started blogging, so that I could keep a digital manuscript where my work will always be accessible to me as compared with all the other previous manuscripts and laptops that got stolen with my work in it. I actually love blogging now because I get to meet other bloggers and grow my writing and broaden my thinking.

Please share your thoughts.

