First Sight – connection or impulse ?

Whether a person, a pet, an object, or a place, write about something or someone you connected with from the very first second.

via First Sight.

 

I am sort of a really impulsive person. Therefore, when I have this impulsive thought of doing something, I often just go for it !

When I was younger, at times during travels, I may see something that I really liked but thought twice about buying it then came home and regretted.  Once some twenty-two years ago, I saw a designer watch I really liked but didn’t buy it because of the price tag but I thought about it everyday and ended up asking someone to help bought me that watch (luckily had the connections).  No, he didn’t pay for it, I did and I was and still am glad I got it. (That prized watch is still somewhere back home and when I get it back, I will add a photo to this post and more stories to tell why it is not with me today.)

In supermarkets, you will notice there are chocolate bars, sweets of all sorts besides you as you queue up to pay for your groceries.  Of course we all know those are items to lure you into impulse buying.  I am not into that sort of impulse buying but my impulse buying is more on “first sight”, something I saw and immediately found that special connection that I must have that item.

As I looked around my house to take photos of my “first sight” there are just too many to be shown in one post so here are some of them.

Beautiful kiwi canvas that has moved with me three times and proudly displayed on my wall in my second lounge.

Beautiful kiwi canvas that has moved with me three times and proudly displayed on my wall in my second lounge.

A big smiley pillow to remind me to wear a smile as I wake up and to smile before I go to sleep.  My fifteen year old Bluey (teddy bear) looks a bit tired but much hugged.

A big smiley pillow to remind me to wear a smile as I wake up and to smile before I go to sleep. My fifteen year old Bluey (teddy bear) looks a bit tired but much hugged.

This little cutie was bought from Queenstown but he is just a showcase item to me and can never replaced my Bluey.

This little cutie was bought from Queenstown but he is just a showcase item to me and can never replace my Bluey

I thought he was big and round so I could save a coin but today, he is still empty.  Carried him all the way from Gold Coast and hasn't put on any weight since.

I thought he was big and round so I could save more than a coin but today, he is still empty. Carried him all the way from Gold Coast and hasn’t put on any weight since.

I love these two japanese dolls and  more coin boxes as you can see.

I love these two japanese dolls and more coin boxes as you can see. Looks like I am a ‘coin-box collector’ afterall.

 

 

7 thoughts on “First Sight – connection or impulse ?

  1. I am have the tendency to “connect” to items that I feel I just need to have. Even if I don’t buy it right away, the thought stays with me for a long time. Like a shoe that I saw once and truly pined for it. 2 years after I could finally afford it and I was the happiest woman that day. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: First Sight, the answer to all my problems | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

    • He doesn’t get hugs from me, only my Bluey (bear) and Toby (pet dog) do. So my little lamb is happy that someone from across the planet loves him. He sends his hugz to you. Pawkiss. 🙂

Please share your thoughts.

