Whether on foot, in a kayak, or on a train, we can document our lives easily. More than ever, the moments of our in-betweens are photo-worthy and shareable.
via On the Move.
Cruising on Jane Gifford
Cruising past New Zealand’s sugar factory. Built in 1884 and at one point employed nearly all the Village. The first walks were “etched” out by sugar workers walking home to their cottages after the days work. The walk heads off down Huka Road (formerly Huttons Road) and has well maintained tracks throughout. Wander down the pathway to view the Chelsea Sugar Clay Cottages (1910 – gifted to the city 2009). The factory, located on the banks of the Waitemata was built from local clay. Four brick dams constructed 1884-1917 to provide water are today picturesque lakes, home to ducks, black swans, and shags.
We are on the move, cruising away.
The Jane Gifford was built in 1908 by Davey Darroch, at Whangateau, initially to cart granite from mines in Coromandel to Auckland. She is 19.8 metres length on deck, has a 6 metre beam and a displacement of 60 tonnes. Based in Warkworth from 1921 to about 1938 she was used to cart shell from Miranda in the Firth of Thames to the cement works on the banks of the Mahurangi River, Warkworth. For a number of years she also carted road metal from the Public Works department Quarry at Motutara Island to Warkworth, for building roads in the area. She was also used to transport stock to and from Great Barrier Island and occasionally to Little Barrier Island. She is now restored as a cruise boat.