Can someone please tell me …. ?

About

I am not a writer neither am I an avid reader so blogging my autobiography may be a challenge but this is something I want to do. 

I have added a Facebook Page.  Please join me on my facebook page https://www.facebook.com/littleborneogirl and feel free to add your blog and stories there.


– quote littlebornegirl –

 

I have more or less written my life story of what needed to be told, not necessarily to the world but as an open journal hopefully for my children and future generations to come if they happen to stumble upon my story.

I found WordPress as a platform for my blog and as my children were not too interested to read my story, I mirrored a page on facebook https://www.facebook.com/littleborneogirl so that my family and friends know when a new story is posted.  It is their choice whether or not to click and find out more.

From past statistics, I realized that Facebook audience and WordPress audience are totally different.  In the case of my blog, WordPress readers are participative and encouraging.  I love the Likes and the Comments.  From my stats, I see a lot of visits generated from Facebook but hardly any Comments or Likes probably because they find it too troublesome having to fill out details or register to click the Like button.

My blog is now more than just my autobiography.  I did and still do a lot of random posts, general topics, food ideas and photos that came into my mind when I am ready to post.  My autobiography and my life story is the framework or the main dish of my blog and those other general random thoughts are the sides.

The topic of this post is

CAN SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME …..?

I asked this question because lately I became a little less motivated to write.  I could spend a couple of hours writing a post and thought, wow, I kind of like that story – example below.

https://littlegirlstory.wordpress.com/2014/02/28/my-top-ten-favorite-asian-veggies/

chinese chiveskacang-botol

 

Chinese-Eggplant-eecue_28290_fi47_l bidin

 

 

 

Thank you dear readers for liking my post.  Greatly appreciated.

Now again, I could participate on a Weekly Photo Challenge and spent no more than ten to fifteen minutes to select some relevant photo to post and the number of likes I got from that ten to fifteen minutes work is amazing. It was almost effortless.  – example below.

https://littlegirlstory.wordpress.com/2014/03/01/weekly-photo-challenge-abandoned/

 

Now back to the question,

CAN SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME …. ?

………. should I continue to write or should I just take it easy and let photographs take over?

Most of the time, I do enjoy what I wrote with passion but sometimes I do get a bit discouraged.  I know I am not a professional writer, neither do I want to admit I am a blogger but I still hope to get good traffic to my blog and readers who come back for more so I know I am not alone writing a diary in my room.

CAN SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME ….. ?

 

Should it be

PICTURES or WORDS?

Please share with me your experiences and thoughts.
I can take it, harsh or soft.  Greatly appreciated.

-Sincerely yours, Little Borneo Girl-

8 thoughts on “Can someone please tell me …. ?

  1. I too have those moments where I don’t feel motivated to write. Like right now. I’m meant to finish two articles and one blog post by Friday…I’m just so tired and just sitting back in my chair listening to music. I also don’t know what to write for the two articles. But what I do know is I love sharing and inspiring others to see the beauty of different cultures around us – and sometimes this gets me to writing two sentences. I guess whenever we’re not motivated to blog, maybe go back to the first reason why we started blogging in the first place – that may motivate us to write and shake of any laziness lurking.

    Another thing that motivates me to write is actually checking out other blogs. I have learnt so much from reading them and especially commenting on other blogs, which a lot have given me ideas to write.

    It’s always nice receiving Likes and Comments on WordPress 🙂 But I think this is all a combination of timing and luck: it’s hard to predict who will see our posts and whether they will like it. I think what makes a post attractive is effort, its style, its voice, the author’s voice. If it’s an honest voice, the audience will gradually come. If my final written piece comes and feels straight from my heart, I don’t exactly give two cents about Likes or Comments or stats. I really admire bloggers who take less than an hour to write a post – YOU! I take almost forever – I spend Saturday night planning each post, Sunday writing it and Monday photoshopping a blog picture and editing the post.

    A couple of days ago I was actually wondering why I wasn’t seeing too many posts from you of late. I wondered where you’ve gone. You definitely are a blogger on WordPress – you have a blog with blog posts and share your ideas for weekly challenges. Thanks for writing and sharing, I’ve really enjoyed what you’ve put up since I’ve discovered you about a year ago 🙂

    • Thank you for sharing Mabel. You are my greatest motivation. When I discovered this young intelligent girl that writes about culture, I always look forward to her story. You did an awesome job so well worth a day’s work. I write mostly random topics and to me spending more than a couple of hours should be something worth sharing with results to show ( likes and comments). It sort of disappoint me sometimes when I got so many more likes on a ten minutes photo post as compared to a couple of hours written post. At times I just take the easy way out but at the end of the day, my blog is my story. I guess I will still keep it that way. More random thoughts to come. Stay with me! Thank you for being my greatest supporter, Sweet Mabel. 🙂

      • You really didn’t have to say those nice things, Jess. Thanks so much, you are very kind 🙂 I like reading random posts a lot – so much variety and so much more to learn about things non-culture related. Speaking of learning, I have so much more to learn about writing and sharing stories, and of course I can learn from you.

        Yes, your blog is most definitely your story and I hope it stays that way. Your voice is always shining though all the way from New Zealand…which I’ve come to learn a bit about from your blog, so you might want to touch on this more often. Definitely looking forward to sticking around and championing your way 🙂

  2. I dont understand why it is that you have to choose between the written word or photographs. You a wonderful story to tell and you tell it beautifully; and there are those of us that learn by reading, others by seeing and others still that learn by hearing. When you write, you delight many, when you share the pictures that are your life, others are touched. Write when you must write, share your photographs when that moves you, combine the two with rich captions. But please don’t stop.

Please share your thoughts.

