Daily Prompt: Generation XYZ – Facebook are for the oldies

Daily Prompt: Generation XYZ by michelle w. on January 30, 2014

Think about the generation immediately younger or older than you.  What do you understand least about them — and what can you learn from them?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us AGE.

via Daily Prompt: Generation XYZ.

Baby Boomers

The Baby Boomers are a generation of people born during the post WWII ‘Baby Boom’, roughly during the years 1946 to 1964.

Generation X

Generation X came after the Baby Boomers, and typically covers people born between the mid 1960’s and the early 1980’s.

I am a species between Baby Boomers and and upper end of Generation X.  My parents belong to the upper end of Baby Boomers and now that I am ‘promoted’ to their generation, I guess there is not a lot I do not understand about them anymore having walked the path they had walked.

Generation Y: 

Generation Y came after Generation X and covers people born between the 1980’s and the year 2000, the Millennial Generation.  Generation Y has been shaped by the technological revolution that occurred throughout their youth.  

That’s my children who grew up with xbox and computers and more recently macs, ipads or iphones.  Whenever I ask for help on any technical issue be it with my computer or phone, they would think I am a dummy.  Personally I think this generation has very limited patience span.

Generation Z:

Generation Z is the generation of children born after the Year 2000. They are the children of Generation X and Generation Y. These kids are highly tech savvy living in an age of high-tech communication and social media.

Below are extracts from www.dailymail.co.uk which to me is a typical trend of the new generation Z.

 

My kids too think that Facebook are for oldies like me.

 

Losing its edge? Facebook was once the coolest site on the web - until it was joined by the world's parents

Losing its edge? Facebook was once the coolest site on the web – until it was joined by the world’s parents

Logo: Snapchat

Whatsapp app

The Global Social Media Impact study said teenagers were switching to Snapchat (top left) and WhatsApp (top right)

 

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2530197/Facebook-dead-buried-teenagers-switch-WhatsApp-Snapchat-dont-want-mum-dad-embarrassing-pictures.html#ixzz2rtElpiD1

15 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Generation XYZ – Facebook are for the oldies

  1. I enjoyed your comments. I had to ask my daughter how to use the camera on my cellphone. Big mistake. I now ask the people at work who are my age–you know, the ‘older’ people. We figure it out together. No more eye rolling…

    • Thank you for your comment Loisajay. I was checking with my sister too about her kids on this subject and apparently she said a simple request for help to check the printer was such a BIG ASK !! It is the same for me and sounded like same for you too. Yes, such a mistake to ask our children for any technical issues. 😦

  2. Pingback: Internet Monsters: a very Grimm tale… Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Generation XYZ | Everyday Adventures

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Generation XYZ | ferwam

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Generation XYZ | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Learning from my 4 year old | A mom's blog

  7. Pingback: NOT Talking ‘Bout my Generation | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  8. Pingback: Ethical Professor Boynton (Part 1) | The Jittery Goat

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Generation XYZ | The Wandering Poet

  10. Pingback: Talkin’ ‘Bout Your Generation | Edward Hotspur

Please share your thoughts.

