Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach – A mother’s peril

Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach

by Cheri Lucas Rowlands on December 10, 2013

Was there a toy or thing you always wanted as a child, during the holidays or on your birthday, but never received? Tell us about it.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us DESIRE.

via Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach.

handskids1

I am very blessed.  I grew up with two mothers, my birth mother and my aunt (dad’s elder sister) who raised me up as her own.  The best thing was we all lived together in one big family home till I was fifteen years old.  Aunt was a single woman, never married and I was showered with all love and care and there was not really any toys that I always wanted as a child and never had.

There were things that I would have liked such as going to piano lessons or ballet classes as a young child but I never had those then.  Eventually when I was in my late teens, I went to organ classes and aunt bought me an organ which I lost interest before too long and it became a home decor rather than a musical instrument.

I was pondering on my childhood some months ago and my blog is the platform for my autobiography and I wrote a post, so appropriate to this daily prompt.  Desire indeed and since I could not have what I wanted as a child, I did my all to ensure my child could have what I wanted but I did not have in my childhood. I came to realize later that this desire is perhaps a selfish and one sided way of thought of a mother, not necessarily always appreciated by the child.

For the full story, please click here  – ‘A Mother’s Peril’.

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach – A mother’s peril

  1. Pingback: There Was Nothing For Christmas, But I Received Everything | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Out of Reach | The Silver Leaf Journal

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Out of Reach | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: of hangups « Anawnimiss

  6. Pingback: Where the Stone rests! Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | Thoughts of a wandering drunk

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach | victor's mind

  8. Pingback: Cabbage patch kids | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Please share your thoughts.

