Daily Prompt: Secret of Success

What would it take for you to consider yourself a “successful blogger”? Is that something you strive for?Photographers, artists, poets: show us EFFORT.

via Daily Prompt: Secret of Success.

I had never intended to be a blogger.  In my quest to write my life story and discovering WordPress as the platform, I guess I ended up being a blogger, not by choice but by chance.  The choice was to write my autobiography and the chance is when being exposed to the blogging community, my trend of thoughts flow and my writing extended to  anything and everything of interest that goes on around me.  Interesting.

Do I consider myself a successful blogger?

To me, a successful blogger is

1.  Someone who has reached 1,000 followers AND

2.  Someone who has a blog that generates at least 150 views daily whether or not there is a new post published for the day AND

3.  Someone who does not spend more than couple of hours per day on WordPress (or any other blogging sites).  Bonus time of an additional hour is given for a post limited to maximum of three per week.

Is that something I strive for?

I am an ordinary woman, a mother, a daughter and a friend.  I am not a writer (other than a blogger) and I do not necessarily want all my time to be spent in front of a computer hence if I can meet all those three attributes, I can then call myself a successful blogger in my own right.  It is an effort to be disciplined that I do not neglect the outside world.

To achieve this success is indeed a huge effort.  I have a long way to go yet as

1.  I am far from the target.

2.  This may happen if I have 1,000 followers although I am getting there, fingers crossed.

3.  This is probably the hardest.  I seemed to be addicted to WordPress and it’s now past midnight.  A successful blogger does not need to sit and wait for Daily Prompt which only pops up on her screen at the stroke of midnight!

IF I CAN ACHIEVE ALL THESE THREE ATTRIBUTES, YES DEFINITELY I WOULD WANT TO STRIVE TO BE THAT SUCCESSFUL BLOGGER.

blogger1 Image courtesy of www.blogvela.com

postaday

18 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Secret of Success

  1. Pingback: Preparing for Winter | Andante Cantabile

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | Motherhood and Beyond

  3. Like you, I never intended to be a blogger. I started my WordPress blog because I wanted to practice my writing. Then as time went on, I re-discovered my love for writing and realised I could share my ideas about multiculturalism with the world through blogging – and by doing so I could connect people and I’ve always liked bringing people together. I am still not used to it when people call me a “blogger”.

    I don’t know about you, but I do get quite a bit of ‘phony’ WordPress blog followers (very disappointing), so I don’t really see reaching 1,000 followers as a good indicator of a successful blogger. I do agree with you that a good blogger doesn’t sit at their computer logged on to WordPress for most of the day. It’s definitely important for bloggers to face the real world head on and draw inspiration from it to write and share.

    • Thanks for your comments Mabel. I understand what you mean about being a blogger part. I guess anyone who has a public site is a blogger so that makes us bloggers ! 🙂 I sort of plucked the 1000 followers number from the tree (sort of) as I came across some blogs probably just a month or so older than mine has indeed already got that number. My blog is my autobiography and those numbers are not so important to me but it is nice to see the LIKES and comments especially when writing on general topics. 🙂

      • It definitely is nice to see Likes and comments 😉 I enjoy your blog a lot, I can see you put a lot of effort into it when I read your posts. You blog meaningfully about once a day, which I don’t do on my blog since time is not on my side (I prefer to put out a heart-felt, honest post once a week than scribble something down which I haven’t thought much about every day). In this aspect, you are a much better blogger than me!

  4. Pingback: Am I a Successful Blogger? | My Spirit Journey

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | College Girl Dai

  6. Pingback: Secret of Success… do I measure it right? | The Rider

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Secret of Success | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  8. Pingback: Key to Success | A mom's blog

  9. Pingback: Success 2: Why we blog… | alienorajt

  10. Pingback: What if I felt like a successful blogger? | Okay, what if ?

  11. Pingback: Another subjective subject | Life & Times

  12. Pingback: Am I really concerned with being a successful blogger? | Rob's Surf Report

  13. Pingback: Can I be Succesful at One Thing at Least Please? | Eccentric Lady

  14. Pingback: Are we bloggers? What a small world ! | littlegirlstory

  15. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Secret of Success | Joe's Musings

  16. Pingback: A quiet night and a random post for Belinda | littlegirlstory

Please share your thoughts.

